Just Another Sunday

You may recall that nice little storm I wrote about in an earlier post. You know, the one that took down a few trees, cut power, etc.?

Well, the storm killed one tree down on our road, but it didn’t quite make it down. Lightning literally blew the tree off its stump and most of the tree came to rest nestled up against another tree. Observe:

See, the listing trunk on the left was blasted off the spiky stumpy portion on the right. Apologies for the lighting; I was working with the iPhone…

FH and I needed to pull this tree down so it wouldn’t eventually decide to come down itself and block the road. As someone who has enough difficultly getting up at 5:30 to get to the train, I really don’t need an obstacle course between my and my morning nap. So we moseyed on down the road with the front-end loader and chainsaw to cut this guy up and haul him back up to the house to eventually become firewood. I decided to film the pulling down portion of this little adventure. I must add, by the way, DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME. Seriously. If that tree hadn’t come down so politely, I would not find this video so funny. Kids, do not play with front-end loaders, especially old and busted front-end loaders.

And thus the tree was down. But we still had a little more work to do. Here’s a gratuitous shot of FH being extremely manly:

I'm a lumberjack and I'm ok...

For the record, I am also becoming chainsaw proficient and was doing some chopping, but FH had wandered off so we don’t have any photographic evidence. Finally, after about 2.5 hours, we were done:

That's a warm house you're looking at this winter.

And that was Sunday.

Leave a Reply

